Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

Symphonic Band Performs

LCHS Symphonic Band perform at Phi Beta Mu Festival


The Logan County High School Symphonic Band performed at the 2019 Phi Beta Mu Honor Concert Band Festival on 16 March. The event, held at Louisville Male High School, featured four high school bands from the state of Kentucky. The bands were selected following an application process and inclusion in the festival is considered an honor. Other high schools represented at the festival were Butler Traditional HS- Louisville, Atherton HS- Louisville, and Oldham County HS- Buckner.


At the festival, the LC Symphonic Band performed the following pieces: “American Barndance” by Ricard Saucedo, “Ammerland” by Jacob da Haahn, and “”Lightning Field” by John Mackey. Organizational members in attendance were extremely complimentary of the ensemble and their performance.


Following their performance, internationally acclaimed conductor, Dr. Frank Tracz, Professor of Music and Director of Bands at Kansas State University, worked and rehearsed with the students.


Phi Beta Mu, International Bandmasters' Fraternity, is an honorary fraternity for band directors. The fraternity was established to honor outstanding band directors at the state level, with only one potential chapter per state. There are currently 35 active chapters in the United States and Canada.


LCHS Symphonic Band members are as follows: Flutes: Bailey Borders, Calie Dowell, Madison Forrest, Brooklyn Haskins, Rylee Hobbs, Kaylea Major, and Mary Mayhugh. Clarinets: Austin Beaty, Bella Bond, Bethany Borders, Brianna Brooks, Alexis Davis, Aly Dotson, Ilana Duncan, Caitlyn Epley, Carlos Gonzalez, Amber Hershberger, Kassidy Hudson, Kaylee McLevain, and Grace Richardson. Bass Clarinets: Sierra Beaty, Makayla Rolett, Autumn Taylor, and Aaliyah Townsend. Alto Saxophones: Aminah Darden, Kaitlyn Flatt, Christopher Gonzalez, and Kellie Proctor. Tenor Saxophone: Colton Watkins. Trumpets: Emilee Bowersock, Cameron Bunce, Austin Epley, Celsey Hankins, Joshua Lawrence, Asher Liles, Jillian McLellan, Austin Smith, Morgan Smith, Micah Windhaus, and Courtney Young. French Horns: Xander Carnal, Sara Montgomery, and Dawson Rogers. Bassoon: Neil Coursey. Trombones: Jamison McPherson and Connor Saylor. Baritones: Penelope Coles and Laren Hines. Tubas: Jesse Buchanan and Matthew Robertson. Bass: Richard Schoonover iii. Percussion: Brandon Appling, Grace Coleman, Mollie Crawford, Michael Cropper, Trenton Fears, Paige Hailey, Katelynn Hallums, Ethan Lowery, Morgan Parker, Lauren Pitts, and Korbin Scruggs.


Mr. David Dayton is Director of Bands at Logan County High School.

Back to School News      Print News Article
Contact Us
Logan County Schools 2222 Bowling Green Road
Russellville, KY 42276
location icon white  View Map & Directions
phone icon white   Phone: 270-726-2436
fax icon white   Fax: 270 726-8892